Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Becoming aPositive Person

There are several great advantages to being a "positive person".

When you are focused on the positive, possibilities tend to come to the forefront.

As soon as you start down a path of negative thought you will see the roadblocks come to the forefront.

The key to being a Positive Person is not to be Happy all the time, but to seek out the positive solutions and "silver linings" that someone else who is blinded by negativity would never see.

Great people get caught up in negative tail spins of self-defeating thought every once in a while. Just don't dwell there and let that define your primary lens through which you view life.

Looking for positive outcomes does not in any way diminish the current situation and it's impact and severity - it just offers a next step that doesn't involve the festal position and a gallon of rocky road ice cream every night for the foreseeable future.

During a rough spot identify how to avoid the negative situations you find yourself in and look for a solution. There always is a solution.

Soon you will be a positive person - focusing on the good in a situation and not just the bad.

Jay

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Who feels overwhelmed?

With all the streams of data and information inundating me on a daily basis I feel overwhelmed.

There is just too much going on these days to stay fully connected, and if you choose to unplug - you fall so far behind you will never get caught up reading the internet.

There are tons of "feeds" out there just make sure you "eat" a well balanced informational meal.

Being selective and constantly cutting back on the "extra stuff" I find myself pouring over (FB, Instagram...) has helped.

I don't see information slowing down anytime soon, so I guess I will need to get used to it.

What do you follow?
How do you keep a throttle on the information deluge of the day?

Let me know.

Cheers.

Thursday, August 01, 2013

Consistency

Why is it so hard to be consistent?
I forgot I had a blog - that is not consistent writing! :O

Time is the new commodity and people used to be able to just plop down a huge chunk of time and do one thing, now there is no way you could do anything without getting interrupted with a phone call, cell phone call or a text message, so we need to be even more consistent than ever.

Writing in this blog would be easy to do if I were consistent in writing something every day and had the habit of writing -even if it were just a few lines.

Conversely: being inconsistent allows you the freedom to take a year and a half off from blogging and jump write back in. (see what I did there with the word write?)

Your inconsistent pun fountain,
Jay Mart

Thursday, February 02, 2012

Do you talk to yourself?

Recently I find myself talking to myself and it is happening with alarming frequency.

I realized in high school that I am a very auditory person - I think in trains of thought that are the constant banter of several  inner monologs all competing for my attention. These inner monologs are spilling over into the spoken realm and because I am so used to hearing them in my mind, when I hear them through my ears I am not sure how long I have been muttering to myself. Scary.

I won't get any further into how my thinking works here, but ask you: how do you think?

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Hackerspace!

As I write this the plans are in the works for a local hackerspace were people can get together and build things (not necessarily computer security related) and share their knowledge passion and interest with others.

I am looking forward to the possibilities of actually getting together and building things.

The world of the knowledge worker is very surreal - and tangible things - other than printed powerpoint notes - just aren't an every day thing. Too bad.

Hackerspaces are becoming more popular in a bunch of different focuses.

See if there is one in your area!

Hack the planet!
Cheers,
Jay

Sunday, July 31, 2011

Vacation Update!

I had a Great Vacation!

I have never had 2 weeks off in a row since I was unemployed a decade or so ago and that was not relaxing.

I actually got to relax.

Refocusing on what is important doesn't have to take two whole weeks - but the two weeks sure helped!

Update:
I have been using adobe premier to edit and render my videos and I have had nothing but issues with it over the past year - something with my setup or the updates that are constantly going on that I am not aware of (to the program or my OS or both).

My video production has been stalled out for the past year and a half.

The video format that my JVC camera shoots in is .mht

I originally researched premier to ensure that this file type was supported and it was.
and it worked great for a year or so, then the inevitable upgrades showed up from Adobe and I just tried to open an MHT file in Premier (same version that worked last month) and the file is no longer a recognized format.

Needless to say that I am bloody pissed off at this turn of events and am now looking to ditch this crappy PC realm and move into the full time creative county of Mac.

I don't take this move lightly but with a 5 min boot time to update all my virus definitions - there has to be a better way.

Amy's iTunes got all messed up when I did reinstall all the programs in an attempt to get this PC working with Premier 6 ish months ago (the Adobe Renderer has some known issues that won't get fixed until the next version but the next version is too much of a resource hog that I couldn't even install it on my system Adobe wouldn't let me....ARRGH!)

Needless to say I want to create more content and have a bunch of great ideas, I have enhanced my studio with better lighting and a larger green screen but that is all for not if I can't even edit the file format that my camera shoots in.

It's like shooting on a betamax and trying to edit it with two vcrs!

The Digital Realm really hasn't done anything but amplify the existing problems with non-standardization.

Enough of the rant, I have been hoping to patch things up and hobble on with some projects but now I am looking for smart alternatives to wasting 2 hours rendering out a 6 min project only to have the Adobe crash out with 4 min left.

Hello Mac Store!

PS if you know of anyone who has a Mac that they want to give away that is capable of doing some video editing feel free to send them my way!

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Holiday time!

I am finally taking a big chunk of time off this year!

Two weeks may not sound like a lot but when you haven't taken more than 3 days off in a row for several years - it's a big deal!

True relaxation rarely happens on a hurried weekend, but with several weeks - it should get good.

Cheers!

Twitter Fiction!

Follow me on Twitter to view my Twitter Fiction Project! @JayMartens

Followers